OFFICES

SITE DU VALAIS CHABLAIS FAUCIGNY SITE DE GENEVE GENEVOIS PAYS DU MONT BLANC VAL D'ARLY SITE DE MAURIENNE GENEALOGIE

Savoy was primarily a State, from the XIth to the XIXth century stretched from Bresse to Lake Maggiore and from Vaud to Nice; and that, through the efforts of a princely family originally Counts of Maurienne, then Counts of Savoy from the XIIIth century, before becoming Dukes of Savoy since 1416 and finally the Kings of Sardinia since 1718. This state disappeared in 1860, following a popular vote at the Italian unit: Nice and Savoy were retroceded to France, while the Piedmont, Liguria and the Aosta Valley were part of the new Kingdom of Italy with the Duke of Savoy being the sovereign king. Savoy was divided into provinces: Savoie Propre (valley of Aix-les-Bains, Chambery, Montmélian and bugiste foreland), Tarentaise (high Isère valley), Maurienne (Arc valley), Chablais (at north), Geneva (between Annecy and Geneva) and the Faucigny (Arve valley between Geneva and Mont Blanc).

CHABLAIS
Chablais is a former province of the Duchy of Savoy having Thonon-Les-Bains as historical capital. In XIth, Chablais designated the entire territory extending on both banks of the Rhone, between Evian and Vevey and called "top" or "head of the Lake". This term was used for the first time by an officer of Louis the Pious in 814. The latin name Caput lacus (caput iaci or caput lago), became the vernacular Capo 'lai (lai = lake in francoprovençal). By phonetic evolution, "p" becomes another lip "b", from which Cab'lai, and then Chab'lai.

FAUCIGNY
Faucigny or Foussigni (Fociniacum, Fussiniacensis tractus), countries of former Focunates or Focuates, is bounded on the north by the Chablais, on the west by the Genevois, on the south by Savoie and Tarentaise, on the east by the Valais. On this side, it is separated from the Aosta Valley by the high Alps, the ancients called Graïennes Alps. It is claimed that the province took its name from a town of Faucigny, missing for many centuries, and on the ruins of which have been built another small town called Anse. Today, the name can only be applied to fragments of the ancient castle of Faucigny, once inhabited by the lords of the province.

GENEVOIS
The Genevois is an historical province of the old Duchy of Savoy corresponding to the former County Geneva. Its historical and economic capital is Geneva, but history made that the political capital was transferred to the town of Annecy. The province was bordered by the Province of Carouge northwest, the Province of Faucigny northeast and Savoie Propre southeast and southwest.

PAYS DU MONT BLANC
The Pays du Mont Blanc is located in eastern Haute-Savoie, bordering Valais in Switzerland and the Aosta Valley in Italy. This mountain area is marked by its natural geographic boundaries: Grand Massif in the north of the Mont Blanc chain in the East, Beaufortain south, the Arly Gorge in the southwest and middle Arve valley northwest. The Pays du Mont Blanc is marked by a strong tourist activity, a mountain farming and cutting industry and precision mechanics in the Arve Valley.

VAL D'ARLY – TARENTAISE
Tarentaise, former province of Savoy, is the high Isère valley from its source to the gates of Albertville and the tributary valleys perpendicular. The main valley is a glacial valley, steep-sided and very narrow in places, bordered to the north by the massive Beaufortain and Mont Blanc, and south by the Vanoise. The name of Tarentaise in the province comes from the ancient Latin name of its political center, Moutiers Darentasia, seat of a bishop since Vth century. The use of the name for the province dates back to the XIth century.

ANTENNES

SITE DU VALAIS CHABLAIS FAUCIGNY SITE DE GENEVE GENEVOIS PAYS DU MONT BLANC VAL D'ARLY SITE DE MAURIENNE GENEALOGIE

La Savoie était avant tout un Etat qui, du XIe au XIXe siècle, s'étendait de la Bresse au Lac Majeur et du Pays de Vaud à Nice; et ce, grâce aux efforts d'une famille princière originellement Comtes de Maurienne, puis Comtes de Savoie dès le XIIIe siècle, avant de devenir Ducs de Savoie dès 1416 et enfin Rois de Sardaigne dès 1718. Cet Etat a disparu en 1860, suite à un vote populaire, lors de l'unité italienne : Nice et la Savoie sont passées à la France, alors que le Piémont, la Ligurie et la Vallée d'Aoste s'intégraient dans le tout nouveau Royaume d'Italie dont le Duc de Savoie fut le Roi souverain. La Savoie était divisée en provinces : la Savoie-Propre (vallée d'Aix les Bains, Chambéry, Montmélian et l'avant-pays bugiste), la Tarentaise (haute vallée de l'Isère), la Maurienne (vallée de l'Arc), le Chablais (tout au nord), le Genevois (entre Annecy et Genève) et le Faucigny (vallée de l'Arve entre Genève et le Mont Blanc).

CHABLAIS
Le Chablais est une ancienne province du Duché de Savoie ayant Thonon-Les-Bains pour capitale historique. Au XIe, le Chablais désignait tout le territoire s'étendant sur les deux rives du Rhône, entre Évian et Vevey et appelé « sommet » ou « tête du Lac ». Ce terme aurait été employé pour la première fois par un fonctionnaire de Louis le Débonnaire en 814. Le nom latin Caput lacus (caput iaci ou caput lago), devint dans la langue vulgaire Capo' lai (lai = lac en francoprovençal. Par le jeu phonétique, « p » devient une autre labiale « b », d'où Cab'lai puis Chab'lai.

FAUCIGNY
Le Faucigny ou Foussigni (Fociniacum, Fussiniacensis tractus), pays des anciens Focunates ou Focuates, est borné au nord par le Chablais, à l’ouest par le Genevois, au sud par la Savoie et la Tarentaise, à l’est par le Valais. De ce côté, il est séparé du val d’Aoste par les hautes Alpes, que les anciens appelaient Alpes Graïennes. On prétend que la province prit son nom d’une ville de Faucigny, disparue depuis bien des siècles, et sur les ruines de laquelle aurait été bâtie une autre petite ville du nom d’Anse. Aujourd’hui, le nom ne peut s’appliquer qu’aux débris de l’ancien château de Faucigny, habité jadis par les seigneurs de la province.

GENEVOIS
Le Genevois est une province historique de l'ancien Duché de Savoie correspondant à l'ancien Comté de Genève. Sa capitale historique et économique est Genève, mais l'histoire a fait que la capitale politique a été transférée vers la ville d'Annecy. La province était bordée par la Province de Carouge au nord-ouest, la Province du Faucigny au nord-est et la Savoie Propre au sud-est et au sud-ouest.

PAYS DU MONT BLANC
Le Pays du Mont Blanc se situe à l’Est du Département de la Haute-Savoie, limitrophe du Valais en Suisse et de la Vallée d’Aoste en Italie. Ce territoire de montagne est marqué par ses frontières géographiques naturelles: Grand Massif au Nord, Chaîne du Mont Blanc à l’Est, Massif du Beaufortain au Sud, Gorges de l’Arly au Sud-Ouest et moyenne Vallée de l’Arve au Nord-Ouest. Le Pays du Mont Blanc est marqué par une forte activité touristique, une agriculture de montagne et une industrie de décolletage et de mécanique de précision dans la vallée de l’Arve.

VAL D'ARLY – TARENTAISE
La Tarentaise, ancienne province de la Savoie, correspond à la haute vallée de l'Isère, de sa source jusqu'aux portes d'Albertville ainsi qu'aux vallées perpendiculaires affluentes. La vallée principale est une vallée glaciaire, encaissée et très étroite à certains endroits, bordée au nord par les massifs du Beaufortain et du Mont-Blanc, et au sud par la Vanoise. Le nom de la province de Tarentaise provient de l'ancien nom latin de son centre politique, Moutiers Darentasia, siège d'un évêché depuis le Ve siècle. L'usage du nom pour la province remonterait au XIe siècle.